Sunday Workshop, Charity Knitting, Meet Cassidy

This Sunday. February 19, we have a double treat for all of you! Valaree is a pro when it comes to knitting the most stunning triangular shawls. I’d like you to meet her and have her help in selecting your very own pattern. Shawls come in different yarn weights, sizes and level of difficulty. May I suggestIshbel by Ysolda Teague,  Stephen West’s free Boneyard, or one of my favorites Citron by Hilary Smith Callis and the newest Classic Elite pattern Tupelo using only 3 balls of Firefly.  Please join Valaree Sunday between 1 and 2pm to pick the very best pattern and yarn for one of these or the many other choices we have at Stitch House!

Then, later this same afternoon, Jeanne will be one hand for you crocheters looking for a nice afternoon working on potholders! Check these out and then come hang with Jeanne Sunday from 4-6pm for a free crochet workshop. Bring hooks and scrap yarn and get a jump start on a fun and small project.

Next Sunday, February 26 we’ll be knitting and sewing for a good cause. Come on in and sew a project tote bag or needle case for $25 and all proceeds will go to  Tucker’s Team  and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society to fund research to find a better cure rate for infant ALL (acute lymphoblastic leukemia). 100% of fundraising will be used to support research of infant ALL. Tucker is the grandson of one of our Stitch House regulars, Laura, and her daughter and son-in-law are running the Boston Marathon in April in his honor. Tucker passed away at just over 5 weeks old and his condition was literally one in a million. The cure rate is basically zero. With your help and support, and having fun sewing and knitting with us, they can reach their fundraising goal! Sunday, February 26 we’ll be sewing from 2-6pm. Each project takes about an hour to complete and all materials are included. Please call and reserve your seat for either the needle case or tote bag. If you prefer to hang and just knit with us, please consider a $25 donation. Light refreshments will be served throughout the afternoon.

As part of to be continued feature to get to know the Stitch House staff better, I would like to introduce you to Cassidy Spiess. To meet her in person come by on Mondays, Wednesday and Friday mornings, or take of of her great classes!

  

In her words: I am originally from Saint Peter, Minnesota but now own a home in Dorchester (but part of me will always love JP!). I have been knitting since I was about 10 years old and sewing for even longer.  My major in college was Costume Design and I took a lot of fiber arts classes.  These days I work in the shop, as a massage therapist, and even dabble in making costumes for television and movies.  If you haven’t started seeing a pattern emerge yet here I’ll help you out; anything related to working with your hands I absolutely can’t get enough of! I love a challenge and figuring out how to tackle problems, from all my background in fiber arts I really understand the construction of knitted fabrics.  I’m also a sewer with a lot of experience and love teaching the sewing 101 classes! Right now I’m (still!) working on my first shop model for Stitch House, it’s going to be a beautiful color worked sweater from a Vogue Knitting pattern that I hope to finally finish in the next month (http://www.ravelry.com/projects/Tootsiebomb/03-nordic-cardigan).  I’m also working on a knitted swim coverup from Army of Knitters (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/roscoff) that I want to wear on my upcoming trip to Puerto Rico!  I’m going to be an aunt in a few short months and lots of baby patterns are in my future, but this one is just SO cute and my favorite current pattern on Ravelry:http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/converse-booties! I am also a huge fan of Anna Hrachovec the genius behind Mochimochi Land.  Everything she makes is SO CUTE and we just got her book “Teeny-Tiny Mochimochi” in the shop.  Right now I am loving the ArtYarns Beaded Mohair and the Sublime Lustrous Extrafine Merino DK, and as soon as my model is up in the shop you’ll get to see how amazing they look together.

Last, but not least, our Super Bowl Sale left a few goodies on the clearance table – all at 50% off! Check out the Karabella Merino, Cascade 220 Sport and books galore!

We also have classes – check out the attached list and have a wonderful week! For my teacher friends… have an even better week off!

Annissa

 

Leave a Reply

