2012 Remembering Chelsea, Thanks and Celebrations!‏

This year has been a wonderful year saddened by the loss of our beloved Chelsea. Everyday I see her picture in the shop, I try my best to channel her inner knitting spirit. Chelsea was a new knitter but very skilled! She surpassed so many in talent in her short knitting career. She challenged me in what I knew about the craft and on my current project, I think of her encouragement. “Annissa, you can cable without the cable needle. You can.” I do it, I smile, and I think of her. She was a fabulous person and the most awful loss for Stitch House. I often peek into her Ravelry account to see her projects. I loved that she took knitting on with a fierce passion. She made a sweater a month in 2011, she worked on tiny needles, mastered lace, worked in color. She did it all and only to fulfill her desire to try something new and get it right. I miss her. We all miss her, and remember her everyday.
In her spirit I have challenged myself to a sweater-a-month in 2013. I got a little advance start because I would like to make all the boys a cabled Irish Knit for St. Patrick’s Day. I have the back of Douglas’ done today and hope to get it finished by the end of next week so January, February and March (in first 2 weeks!) can be for Parade Day. I haven’t deceided if they’ll all be the same or a little different. I am nervous I will be bored after the first since they are all in Cascade 128. Douglas’ is Aran Sweater from Cool Knits for Kids and I am flying along! It is a good strong start for a challenge I am determined to get through. This new year I am also hoping to get more experience in colorwork. I have done so little and really need to get that skill learned. Any thoughts on some good starter projects? Let me know.
Tonight we’ll be knitting around the table. If you’re in town, looking for good company – come on by. We start gathering at about 6pm and hang until the last one with a key to lock up remains. In celebration of the end of a year, I’ll bring some bubbly. You can bring the conversation!
Here is the schedule for the Shop the next few days.
Saturday, December 29 10am-6pm
Sunday, December 30 12noon-6pm
Monday, December 31 10am-3pm
Tuesday, January 1, 2013 Closed
January 2, 2013 Return to regular schedule
For those of you looking for a special way to ring in the New Year, check out this local event:
    2nd Annual LHCC Polar Bear Plunge
    Tuesday, January 1, 2013 @ 12:30 PM@ Tenean Beach, Neponset    Registration is $15/person gets Event Longsleeve T-Pre-registration strongly encouraged
Best Costume wins Grand Marshall
For more information and pre-registration, please contact:
Robert Genduso at Robertgenduso@gmail.com
Tom Leahy at toml919@comcast.net
Craig Galvin at craig@galvingroupre.com
Proceeds benefit the Leahy Holloran Community Center

Well I wish you a good start to 2013, check out the attached class listing and give us a ring with any questions. From my family to your’s, Happy New Year – may it be te best ever!
Annissa
Leave a Reply

