More Snow!? Sewing Classes, Knit Workshops

I must confess I went away last week. Yes, me and the family took a little trip to somewhere warmer! I did have a wonderful vacation hanging in sunny Florida and while there you know I did some serious knitting. I’m not sure, but some f you might be like me, packing a number of projects to get done while on a trip, certainly more than any one person can get done. Well, this trip I tried something different. I packed 2 projects. And something amazing happened! I got them done!
First I made Kate Jackson’s Cozy Cocoon in Tosh DK. It is beautiful! Although I made it into the “cocoon” I may undo the seams and juste keep it as a beautiful wrap. I will post pictures of both later today. My other project was an adapted Mohair Bias Loop by Churchmouse. I used 3 skeins of Tosh Prairie and created a gradient pattern. This I REALLY love. And the drape is awesome and it is lightweight enough to wear right through to Summer’s cool evenings (imagine, Summer may eventually come!).
Now that I’m back I have another new project on the needles. I wanted to make something from one of our new yarns for Spring and picked Trendsetter Madras, a cotton/acrylic blend. I think it will take about 4 balls ($32 project) to make Saroyan and so far so good! Usually I wouldn’t use something with this much color to do a leaf pattern, but in this case, I think it works! I knit this in one hockey practice last night, plus a little this morning.
A few weeks ago we were able to raise a quick $85 for the Boston Marathon Team MR8 (running for Martin Richard) with our raffle for Chelsea’s needles. Congrats to Libby who took away the great prize and thank you to all who contributed. If you would like to give to the Fund and support the Team MR8 runners, we are hosting the Boston Strong Hat workshop and selling patterns in the shop for the Hat – all Stitch House proceeds will go to the runners for their fundraising efforts. If you’d like to simply make a donation find a runner who could use the contribution or consider giving to John, a friend running in Martin’s honor.
In other news, another snow storm looks like it might be hitting us Monday, so get your projects lined up. We do lots happening in the shop this weekend and in the next few weeks. Please check it all out! Perhaps, come visit this evening around the knitting table.
Annissa
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~WORKSHOPS
Get to Know Your SERGER!

On Saturday March 1 join Deborah West for a Serger workshop  from 12:30-2:30. Session $20 – call to register!

 

GTK Your Sewing Machine – Session added, Thursday, March 6 from 6-8pm. $20

Pre-Teen Sew!

Calling all kids ages 10-13 to learn to sew with us! 3 Sessions starting Wednesday, March 5 rom 4:30-6pm. $75 includes materials.

 

Semele Wrap KAL
Saturday March 1 & 8 
from 3-5pm
We had some requests for this so here it is! Claudia is running a much requested Knit ALong to make the Semele.
This is a FREE Workshop (with purchase of yarn).
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~CLUBS
March Quilt Club
Wednesday, March 12-2pm
Hand Sewing/Quilting Techniques.
New participates, purchase Modern Patchwork Mag.
All $10 materials fee.
Sweater Club
 Sweater Club continues on
Wednesday Nights 
6-8pm
Drop in with Kathleen and friends for sweater help, good company and motivation! $20 a session.
Leave a Reply

