My Birthday, Holiday Celebrations, Good Story!

SH Logo
If you’re a crafter you know that sinking feeling when your special project is lost. Well here’s the saga of the lost orange knit bag… I knew she was not gone for good, but I couldn’t find her anywhere. She had with her my in progress sweater (back done, two fronts almost finished) and my shawl, that stunning shawl that took me the whole Summer- I was in the middle of binding off. And so many little goodies, stitch markers, scissors, extra needles were hiding at the bottom. I was bummed. We searched, the staff, my husband, even a reward was offered to the kid who found it first! In the meantime, I looked at the sunny-side, I could start something new! Oh – I have enough other projects going, but now was an opportunity to start something new. I figured, as soon as I casted on I would find my orange bag. Weeks went by, hope was fading, and my new Color Affection was taking shape. Beautiful really. And then, while looking for a wreath hanger, there it was. just waiting for me. It was a joyful reunion! Many of us celebrated. Texts were sent, calls made. I am not exaggerating.  Anyway. we are all happy. I have agreed to finish my Color Affection (in Tosh Prairie light grey, dark grey and hot-hot pink) and then back to the orange bag.
In the above “knitomentary” include and are all available at the Stitch House:
orange bag
Namaste Snappy $22 for set of two.
sweater pieces
CEY Fresco in plum, Herzog Custom Fit Sweater, $10 per ball, Custom Fit workshop.
stunning shawl
Forest Foliage pattern, Rowan Fine Art yarn $30.
various goodies
priced as marked.
Tosh yarns
all stunning, we carry Prairie, Merino Light, Vintage, DK, Sock, Dandilion, Pashmina, Unicorn tails.
In addition to the orange bag celebration, I am also celebrating my birthday! As you know I love a good party and this one is for site and has dual purpose. If you are new to the Stitch House, you may not know how much I love Boston and politics. I had a great run for the Boston City Council in 2013 and look forward to 2015. Please join me for an “Announcement” party THIS Friday, December 12 (my real birthday) from 6-10pm. If you you prefer a quieter crowd and wan to bring your knitting, we’ll still be around the table a few doors up at the Stitch House for Friday night knitting.
And, now that December is here, please enter our ornament contest! All ornaments will be displayed and winner announced at our Stitch House holiday party on Friday, December 19.
Annissa
We will be closing early Christmas Eve and New Years Eve and CLOSED December 25th and January 1.

slogan

WEDNESDAY Workshops with Kathleen
Join Kathleen for these *FREE with purchase knitting evenings through Christmas.
Don’t let the early darkness brought on by the return to Standard Time keep you at home – we’ve got a fun roster of Wednesday Night Mini Knits to keep you busy through December! As always, the workshop is free if you purchase the pattern and yarn at the shop – please call to reserve your spot, spaces are limited to 6 per workshop!

December 10
Holiday Decorations – get into the spirit of the season with cute mini sweater, sock and mitten patterns that you can use to adorn your home all winter long!
December 17
Finish It Off – come in to finish any of your previous Wednesday projects
December 24 
No class – Have a lovely Christmas Eve!
December 31 
No class – Happy New Year!
bumperGuess what I’m gearing up for again… yes. I am ready to get back at it. I hope you will join me for my birthday party and announcement! Friday, December 12 6-10pm at the Banshee.

Ornament Contest!
Now that December is here, we’re excited to get in the holiday spirit with a contest! Create an ornament by sewing, crocheting, or knitting, bring it in by 12/19, and we’ll display it in the shop for customer voting. The winner will be announced on 12/19 at the shop holiday party! If you need inspiration, check out Ravelry and Pinterest, or sign up for Wednesday Mini-Knits on 12/10 to make mini ornaments.

sewing pic

Get to Know Your Sewing Machine is a 2 hour workshop to familiarize yourself with either your personal sewing machine, or ours. We’ll introduce you to the machine, including turning it on, threading it, learning the basic stitches and functions, and caring for it. You will leave this session feeling good about your beginner skills, a handy packet of information to use at home and a starter project for your first sewing class with us. Even if you aren’t taking a sewing class with us, this is a great opportunity to learn a few basics. If you are bringing your own sewing machine, bring all the pieces and the manual (if you can find it!). If you don’t own a machine, come get to know our machines. This workshop also includes taking your measurements, picking appropriate patterns and how to select fabrics and notions. $30.

Wednesday, Dec 10, 6-8pm. OR Saturday, Dec 13th, 10am-12 noon.

December Give-back Sundays…

December 14

10 am – 12 noon Hats for Kids & Adults

We’ll be knitting hats for Children’s Hospital and Dana-Farber. Bring a ball of yarn and matching needles, we’ll have a collection of patterns to pick from… including this cool one.

 

December 21

10 am-12noon Blankets

I have a collection of blankets with small tears. Help me hand-patch them and give to the Italian Home for Children. Bring your knitting, this will be a quickie project.  

December 28

10am- 12noon  TBA

We’ll chat over the weeks to decide how we’ll use this week…

All crafters will be entered into a drawing for weekly raffle. Items will be donated to local charities weekly.

Knitting Classes!
 Knit 102 Friday mornings & Thursday evenings

Join Shelley for Knit 102 this Winter. She kicks of the season with Friday mornings 9-11am on January 2 (series end March 13). Register and get the wholeWinter for $100. Each week Shelley will help you with your independant projects and do a mini-lesson on a variety of skills. Call for more details and to hold your seat!

We also offer Knit 101 sessions on Mondays 10am-12noon, Tuesdays 6-8pm and Saturdays 9-11am. $75 for 4 sessions.

Leave a Reply

